Customer Reviews

Let our clients tell you about our food. See these reviews from some of our satisfied customers.

★★★★★  Claire H. (Host), on 08/09/2018

What a professional service from start to finish, to celebrate a significant birthday. I was helped through the choice of courses to ensure that all our guests would enjoy the tasting menu, even to the extent that at the last minute one guest developed a problem with milk and medication and this was accommodated for.

Umberto arrived on time and just got on with the job. Nothing appeared to phase him, coming into a rental holiday cottage with limited facilities.

The food was absolutely amazing. The presentation, considering the limited crockery selection, was beautiful. We have eaten taster menus in several high class restaurants, and all agreed this was one of the best. The portion sizes being spot on, as we were able to enjoy every single dish without feeling full, but completely satisfied.

Overall it was a fantastic experience, and Umberto left 6 very satisfied guests and a spotless kitchen. Many thanks.

★★★★★  Zelinda A. (Host), on 28/08/2018

Right from the start he was so professional , always on top of emails , coming up with lots of ideas for the menu , nothing was too much trouble .

And what a chef, absolutely brilliant . The meal he cooked for us was superb, all our guests were bowled over , by the presentation , the wonderful flavours , the high standard of the ingredients , and not to forget his friendly charm which was so important .
He was happy to talk to any guests who had an interest in how he was cooking .

He came into a kitchen he did not know and cooked us a feast !

He didn’t fuss , he never intruded , it was an absolute pleasure to meet such a talented chef .

His food gave my husband a 70th birthday meal ,none of us will ever forget .

I think the greatest compliment was , after it was over, all the guests were trying to work out when they themselves could find something to celebrate in order to get Umberto back to cook again !

Whoever hires Umberto to cook for them in the future is incredibly lucky .

★★★★★ Carol W. (Host), on 03/08/2018

Umberto cooked a Sicilian menu which was designed and adapted to accommodate 6 adults, one of whom is vegan, and one child. We chose to celebrate my husband’s 70th birthday at a holiday lodge with our family and were recommended La Belle Assiette. We were then put in touch with Umberto who was both flexible in designing the menu and has a good knowledge of vegan recipes. We were so impressed with Umberto’s calm and professional manner throughout the experience. He was brilliant in delivering delicious and well cooked Sicilian food, in particular the imaginative vegan alternatives.

Thank you so much for serving us such a delicious Sicilian meal. My husband was really impressed with every part of the menu and we all appreciated your calm and professional approach.  You have made this celebration week-end really memorable.

★★★★★ Jenny D. (Host), on 03/08/2018

We agreed a slightly amended menu with him that catered for both gluten free and a one guest who was vegetarian.

Umberto’s food was absolutely delicious and he was lovely and friendly. He coped well with an AGA and overall it was a fabulous 70th family birthday celebration. We’d definitely recommend Umberto’s cooking to others.

★★★★★ Margaret B. (Host), on 24/07/2018

We had Umberto as our chef for a 70th birthday family dinner for 9. He arrived promptly as planned and within minutes had the kitchen organised and was calm and even unflustered by having to use an Aga cooker!! the food was delicious, well presented, the sauces were so tasty, everyone was very impressed with the standard of the meal, and the portion sizes were perfect.Umberto seem to manage being chef, waiter, and kitchen washer upper with no problem at all. I would definitely have him again his Sicilian/Italian cooking was scrumptious.

Many thanks for a super celebration.

★★★★★ Sarah R. (Guest), on 21/07/2018

Excellent menu & food was beautifully presented & tasted great. Thank you!

 

★★★★★ Iain M. (Host), on 12/07/2018

Umberto was a great chef, our kitchen was immaculate after he left. The food was great, no pressure on timing. In particular the beef main course was amazing. Highly recommended

★★★★★Mark H. (Host), on 18/06/2018

After my initial enquiry everything was smooth from start to finish… they very punctual on replying to any question I had about the food, cost etc… Chef Umberto was outstanding, food was fantastic and we also had a couple of vegan diners and their food was delightful as well. Everything was perfect, Umberto arrived on time and the food was just as he had described it. Presentation was immaculate with all the courses complementing each other very nicely. I have no complaints and would recommend his services again and again.

★★★★★Anna D. (Host), on 14/06/2018

We were really impressed with the whole service. Very straightforward to book, all questions answered. The chef was brilliant and provided a perfect menu tailor made to our requirements. He was very communicative before the event, very professional and the food was gorgeous! Everyone was really impressed.

★★★★ Amanda D. (Guest), on 26/05/2018

Umberto cooked a fantastic dinner for us last Saturday. We were a group of five and chose the four course design your own menu. It was booked with very short notice and Umberto was very efficient in sending through some lovely choices that met our dietary requirements after a brief conversation. On the day, the food Umberto cooked was wonderful (both taste and presentation) and he was a pleasure to have around – he arrived promptly, prepared the food efficiently and he was unobtrusive. We would love to have him cook for us again and if we are ever in the same area we will certainly be in touch.

★★★★★ Robert D. (Host), on 04/09/2017
Umberto arrived on time and set about creating the meal in a very professional manner while cheerfully answering questions from interested guests. All of the courses were exceptional from the chefs assortment of canapes to the delicious sweat. The whole experience exceeded my expectations due to chef Umberto’s cheerful disposition and undoubted professional ability, making my wife’s birthday a day to remember.
★★★★  Charlie J. (Host), on 20/08/2017

Umberto was great and his food was amazing. He was very friendly and polite. When he arrived he got straight down to work. His food was delicious and he left the kitchen cleaner than when he arrived. There was an issue when our original choice of chef wasn’t available but Umberto stepped in last minute and did a great job.

★★★★★ Janet (host) 27/05/2017

 The meal by Umberto was simply wonderful! We LOVED every bite! Umberto was the perfect chef – very well organized, served everything with the agreed timing – and graciously worked with what we had available to us there (sorry about the freezer – we actually found it in the Garden Room the next day!!)

The flavours in every dish were delightful – and everything looked beautiful too. It really was a fitting meal for George’s 90th birthday. We wanted to make the event special. He does not like too much “fuss”, but he appreciates excellent food. We really hit the perfect balance! Eating our meal out in the church part of The Priory at the dining table there was really special. I am glad that I chatted about the eating location with Umberto and followed his advice not to eat at the kitchen table.

It was a real treat to walk into the kitchen and see it perfectly cleaned up. Normally, I would not get to enjoy the meal so much, because I would be running around in the kitchen and then also doing the clean-up. I really appreciated being able to fully participate in the celebration meal (and my cooking is nowhere near as good as Umberto’s!)

Our sincere thanks and appreciation to Umberto for the fabulous experience.

★★★★★ Jen (host) 03/03/2017
After a small mishap with the original booking (another chef pulled out), Umberto stepped in to be our chef for gourmet Italian evening. A complete pleasure from start to finish, he shaped the menu perfectly, suggested matching wines and on the day was warm and professional. Not to mention preparing better than restaurant quality food – amazing!!! – and leaving the kitchen spotless.
★★★★★    Lesley (host) 10/09/2016
On the professional side, Umberto arrived when he said he would, prepared amazing food, and tidied everything away … leaving the kitchen as it was when he arrived. He definitely has a passion for food! On the personal side, having Umberto around was a real pleasure. Umberto made a very special family occasion even more special.
 
Cooking Lessons Now Available

*****       Stuart T. (Student), on 05/09/2016

Umberto was phenomenal. A truly fantastic experience and exceptional food was made 🙂 he’s an amazing chef a great teacher and all round top guy. Would thoroughly recommend him to anyone. Thank you so much for this brilliant experience 🙂

***** Clodagh D. (Host), on 26/08/2016

After our original chef had cancelled, Umberto kindly stepped in…and we were not disappointed. He arrived on time, set himself up and cooked a wonderful meal for us all. He then cleared everything up after himself (he even mopped the floor)! I would highly recommend Umberto to cater any event. He has a clear passion for food. Thank you.

***** Amy R. (Host), on 05/10/2015

Once again, Umberto’s food was extraordinarily good and attracted glowing comments from our customers. He was also punctual, professional and courteous. Highly recommended!

***** Amy R. (Host), on 15/09/2015

Umberto’s food was delicious, inventive and beautifully presented, with great attention to detail. He was also absolutely charming as well as professional. I’m delighted that he will be catering our next event as I know I won’t have to worry about anything!

**** Rachel T. (Guest), on 12/06/2015The food was lush! With gorgeous weather we were stood outside with drinks and were brought our amuse bouche, which was a very delicious start to the evening. The food was delicate and full of flavour and the main with the edible flowers was such a pretty dish, I didn’t want to eat it! The guys made some incredibly beautiful and tasty food and we didn’t even know they were there….seamless service! Thank you

 *****    Kevin T. (Host), on 04/01/2015
 The meal was absolutely outstanding. Umberto was a gentleman all through the meal and was very easy to talk to and very friendly. He served us wine throughout and the presentation of the food was also fantastic. It was a great night and I would definitely recommend this service and this chef to anyone. I will no doubt use this company again and I will also look particular to ask for this chef!

*****  Superb food. Some of it is better than what you get at Polpo or Bucca di Luppo. – Sally, SE11

*****  Delicious! – Anton, SE11

*****  Best gnocchi and arancini I’ve ever had! Thank you! – Tim, SW4

*****  Food was lovely, arrived quickly and hot. Strongly recommend. – John, SW4

*****  Another great delicious meal, thanks. – Anton, SE11

*****  Excellent, excellent! I told a group of friends all about it this morning. – Anne, SE24

*****  Brilliant. Umberto has always some delicious surprise. Chicken was sublime. Arancino was as usual – high class. The Macco Di Piselli was delicious as well as the caponata. This is my fourth or fifth time ordering from Umberto and he is a true master chef. Thanks Umberto and until next time 🙂 – Emil, SW8
Delicious as always! Thank you for the brownies. 🙂 – maria, SW4

***** Brilliant. Umberto has always some delicious surprise. Chicken was sublime. Arancino was as usual – high class. The Macco Di Piselli was delicious as well as the caponata. This is my fourth or fifth time ordering from Umberto and he is a true master chef. Thanks Umberto and until next time 🙂