Customer Reviews

Let our clients tell you about the Hungry Chefs dining experience. Some reviews from our clients.

Danielle W. 13 July 2019 Hen Party in Sandbanks

Delicious

★★★★★ Lizzie C (Host) Birthday Party 21/07/2019.

We booked Umberto and Claire only 10 days in advance to cater for a birthday dinner party, after they responded to an advert I put on to ‘addtoevent.co.uk’. Their communication was really prompt and clear, and their menu had lots of choice – so much so that we struggled to narrow it down to two choices for the party to choose from for each course. They arrived on time and were really friendly and warm, but also professional. The food was absolutely delicious and beautifully presented. We couldn’t have asked for more and wouldn’t hesitate to book them again. Thanks for a great evening!

★★★★★ Michelle L (Host) Hen Party 13/07/2019.

Hen Party Chef

I can’t begin to say how amazing this company and service was …. they made a special night even more special . 
The whole package start to finish was amazing and even when we changed things at short notice they were brilliant . The food was fantastic and we will definitely be using this service again ! ❤️

★★★★★ Hannah (Host) Hen Party 12/07/2019.

Fantastic service nothing was too much trouble and they left the kitchen spotless, not to mention the fact the food was amazing!

★★★★★ Alan H. (Host) Wife’s 80th Birthday Party 16/06/2019

All 12 of us thoroughly enjoyed the superb meal that you provided. It made such a contribution to what was obviously such an important day in our lives. I am sure that apart from the culinary skills that you have, the success of the evening was in no small measure down to the time you were prepared to give in discussing and advising on the menu that we finally adopted. Your preparation and presentation on the evening was exemplary. We are seldom in the South West, but if ever we are, we would have no hesitation in calling upon your services again.

★★★★★ Felix O. (Groom) Wedding 27/05/2019

Nothing short of Spectacular. Definitely Special!

Claire and Umberto were fantastic from start to finish and made our wedding that bit extra special. Having authentic Italian food was a major requirement for us and they certainly delivered. As half of our guests were Italian it was massively important. They listened to all of our requests and made suggestions of their own to help make it a cohesive menu.

They invited us for a tasting in their lovely home and provided a small feast. The Arancini they made were spot on and just as good, if not better than the ones we used to have in Rome. We have had nothing but excellent feedback from all of the guests and we could not be happier. So much so that we are looking for any excuse to plan another event to book them again.

Thank you!

★★★★★ Natalie B. (Host) Mum’s 60th Birthday Celebration 15/06/2019

I just wanted to say thank you so much again for Saturday night, the food was amazing and my mum had a fantastic time!

★★★★★ Heather C. (Host) Mum’s 70th Birthday Celebration 29/05/2019

We used Hungry Chefs for a special meal to celebrate my Mum’s 70th birthday whilst on holiday in Devon.  It was a real pleasure booking through Claire who took the time to get to know a little more about our evening, my Mum’s background and dietary likes/dislikes.  Umberto created a wonderful menu for us and came prepared with all he needed to deliver a truly spectacular meal.  Delicious fresh scallops, melt in the mouth lamb and a divine light lemon pud.  It was a lovely experience from start to finish. I can highly recommend Hungry Chefs for others out there looking for a delicious, high end meal served in your home.

★★★★★ Anke K. (Host) Corporate Team Building Event 23/05/2019

We had a very lovely dinner! And the hospitality was even better. We came home to Umberto and Claire already busy getting things ready for dinner. They were great hosts and took care of every thing so that we could really relax and enjoy the delicious food. Thanks for the great evening!

★★★★★ Emma S. (Host) Hen Party 18/05/2019

“We had the most wonderful dinner party on Saturday evening for our friend’s Hen weekend and we’re blown away with how good the food and service was.

We are all big foodies and Claire and Umberto didn’t disappoint. The flavours and detail were so intricately put together, taking into consideration our hen’s favourite foods and flavours, and the service and atmosphere created was flawless. Claire and Umberto were also excellent at creating interesting and delicious choices for our vegan, vegetarian and gluten-free guests. They made the evening a very special one and was even better than going out to a Michelin Star restaurant.

The whole experience, from planning to the end of the evening was all very stress-free and the communication from start to finish was excellent.

Thank you so much to Claire and Umberto both again. We’ll definitely be using you again and recommending you to our friends and family.”

★★★★★ Nicky O (Host) Fab Weekend Party 10 – 12 May 2019

Best chef in the UK

★★★★★ Halina K. (Host) Husband’s 50th Birthday Celebration 04/05/2019 50th Birthday Celebrations

We had such a fabulous experience with our chef and his assistant. The whole experience from start to end was very professional and we will never forget celebrating my husband’s 50th birthday. There was regular contact with the chef about food requirements etc., so that on the day, we sit back, relax and watch Umberto work his magic in the kitchen. What a treat. The food was amazing, Umberto and Claire were charming and my kitchen was left immaculately clean and tidy.

★★★★★ Bill D. (Host) 21/02/2019 & 22/02/2019 50th Birthday Celebrations

Thank you so much for your efforts and sheer quality over the two nights.  The food really was consistently surprising and sensational, and the presence of the two of you – your friendliness, charm and effortless lack of intrusiveness (while still feeling an integral part of the company) – was appreciated more than I can say.  And appreciated even more perhaps once we’d had the caterers on the Saturday night – I’m not wanting to complain or criticise them, they did a decent job in many ways, but there really was no comparison.  We ate our food and enjoyed a particularly busy and raucous final night, nothing could detract from that, but we still missed you.  Missed the endless references back to the food through the night and re-savouring of each element, from canapés right through to dessert (too many comments about different dishes to relay them all to you, but every last one of them emphatically in the superlative).  Also, a little absurdly perhaps, considering you were there doing a job of work (if one with great skill, care and dedication behind it), we felt so warmly towards you both that we kind of wished you’d been there just to meet the Saturday night crowd, to hear the speech my wife made that night, let alone to cook for them, for everyone to be able to experience Umberto’s flair and brilliance.

Thank you again, and hope to see you another time.

***** Peter G. (Host) 05/04/2019 Stag Party for 14

Claire and Umberto gave us the most amazing evening- food was absolutely spectacular and they were great company too. Would highly recommend to anyone!!

***** Sophie B. (Host) 30/03/2019 Hen Party for 20

30 March Sophie Bennett

***** Hannah F. (Host) 15/03/2019 Hen Party for 14

I just wanted to say a massive thank you to both you and Umberto for Friday night.  The food was completely amazing but what made it an even better experience was how easy you made it for me to organise it all. 
 
So thank you again, we would recommend you to anyone!
 

**** Di P. (Host) 02/03/2019 70th Birthday Party for 

Thank you for a fabulous meal on Saturday, it really was fine dining and was thoroughly enjoyed. A memorable fine dining meal for 8. Superb food beautifully presented. Everyone was very impressed and it’s something we would love to do again one day! Highly recommend Hungry Chefs.

★★★★★ Elaine (Host) 23/02/2019 30th Birthday Party

Claire and Umberto were brilliant! From booking to the event the communication was excellent. Claire was always happy to help with the organising of the event. On the evening, Claire and Umberto arrived and were friendly and it was a lovely relaxed atmosphere. They cooked and served the food, it was delicious! They made sure everyone was happy and they left the place spotless. Thank you for creating such a relaxed evening to celebrate my sister’s 30th. None of the group had ever had a private chef cook for them and we all said we would definitely do it again!

★★★★★ Jane & Tony (Hosts) 02/02/2019 60th Birthday Party

This was the first time I had booked a personal chef and I was not disappointed. From the initial enquiry, to choosing the menu and then final arrangements Claire was friendly and professional. On the evening of our special celebration Umberto and Claire produced a fabulous meal, tasty and beautifully presented. And they left the kitchen spotlessly clean and tidy. I cannot recommend them highly enough. They made our celebration a night to remember.

★★★★★ Amy K (Host) 01/02/2019 Hen Party

Claire and Umberto were an incredible team! They catered for all dietary requirements and gave us multiple options on dish choices. They provided complimentary canapés that Claire personally served and they were delicious and Umberto created a fantastic main course and dessert! The food was delicious and the service spot on!
Well done to Umberto and Claire 

★★★★★ Wendy H. 23/01/2019 65th Birthday Party

Claire and Umberto are a great team. Communication throughout was excellent. A pleasure to be able to work with Claire, when compiling our choice of menu in advance. Food inspirational and delicious, prepared to the highest standard. Wonderful imaginative canapés served by Claire prior to being seated.The three course meal equally delicious presented at the table, with full description of the food by Umberto. Service was professional, friendly and discreet. Following the meal, the kitchen was left immaculate.  What joy! Our party of nine thoroughly enjoyed the event and would like to convey our delight and thanks to both Claire and Umberto for making the evening so special. Thank you Claire and Umberto. 

★★★★★ Suzanne W. (Host) 12/01/2019 40th Birthday Party

Absolutely fantastic experience, we cannot recommend Hungry Chefs highly enough!

Very professional team of chef & host who were extremely flexible in creating a bespoke menu for my husband’s 40th birthday party. The food was of a fantastic standard using all locally sourced produce and I had every confidence in their delivery prior to the event due to the great level of communication. The lunch exceeded everyone’s expectations. Claire & Umberto were extremely pleasant throughout the day and were always on hand to ensure the whole event went smoothly, plus cleaning up fully afterwards!

Liz C. OMSCO – Company Christmas Party

★★★★★ Luena H. Professional Events Organiser Christmas Party 18/12/2018

I own an events company and had the pleasure of working with Claire and Umberto whilst organising a party on behalf of a client. After shortlisting them from a number of companies, I selected them on the basis of their professionalism, approachability and (of course!) unbelievably good food. From the initial communication to the pick up afterwards, everything was flawless and seamless. A true delight.

The client himself chose to keep his (rather large) party as an informal event without staff as it was taking place, so Hungry Chefs brought all items that didn’t require heat all ready to be displayed and served and provided detailed instructions for all the hot items, which worked very well.

The feedback from the client and the guests was incredibly good, so, as an events organiser and a future client myself, I’ll definitely will be coming back for more!”

★★★★★  Anna K. (Host), on 15/12/2018

Anna K Review Dec 15

 

Claire and Umberto were fantastic. Great food, very nicely served for a party of 16. They were very professional. Very easy communication with Claire regarding the menu. There was no problem to serve a different main for children. I would highly recommend Umberto as a chef to anyone.

★★★★★  Liz C. (Host), on 14/12/2018

Thank you so much for the lovely evening. The food, service and everything was perfect. Thank you!  We will definitely be using you guys again very soon, if you’ll have us 🙂

★★★★★  Kavita B. (Host), on 30/11/2018

Hungry Chefs were excellent! They could not have been more accommodating to my family and I. The whole experience was amazing, the food was delicious, their attention to detail was fantastic and we definitely want to use them again. They have their service down to an art!  We really loved it and it was the highlight of the weekend!  We can’t stop talking about how good the food was, especially the main meal.

Thanks Kavita and family

★★★★★  Bex S. (Host), on 17/11/2018

From inception to realisation this dream duo made a surprise birthday event for my wife a memory to treasure forever. The dream team made everything so easy and there was nothing that phased them even when I set alight to the chimney in the drawing room and had to nearly call the fire brigade, the guys were so professional and nothing was an issue, they were so calm under the pressure. The food is another level and it felt like we had a Michelin star restaurant in our very own home. Everything was of the upmost quality and presentation was something worthy of a master chef final! You will feel like a Hollywood superstar or royalty with these two in your kitchen. We went to sleep with our bellies full of the finest cooked produce and a wonderful story to tell for a long time. We will be doing this again that’s for sure.

Best culinary experience we’ve ever had!

★★★★★  Anna K. (Host), on 10/11/2018

99035a62352cd8c15b178f4d9dd46526

 

★★★★★ Mark L. (Host), on 27/10/2018

Umberto treated us to a delicious 7 course taster menu for my family at a joint 50th and 75th birthday dinner party held in our home. From the very first contact with Umberto and Claire the approach was not only flexible and accommodating but exceptionally professional.

On the day, they arrived promptly and everything played out as planned, the food was not only a delight to see, so beautifully created, a real work of art, but each course also tasted divine, each and every course.

Once the meal was completed the kitchen was left spotless and Umberto and Claire quietly left us to enjoy the remainder of the evening, a complete success. One particularly nice touch was Umberto’s introduction to each course, the ingredients, the cooking technique and its history, rounding off a super experience. Highly recommended.

★★★★★ Helen V. (Host) on 15/10/2018

Chef Umberto was fantastic – cooked us an amazing vegetarian Sunday roast and crumble for pudding! A hit with all 9 of us inc. grandparents and kids!

★★★★★ Fiona B. (Host) on 13/10/2018

The whole process was made incredibly easy. Our chef Umberto was superb in every way and we wouldn’t hesitate to book him again.

Umberto was super, he was professional, his food was faultless and he left the kitchen spotless. He also handled a group of rather drunk girls pestering him very well!

The menu “Middle Eastern Delights ” was delicious and exactly what I’d hoped for. Umberto was also very accommodating to our request to cater for Vegetarian and gluten free guests.

★★★★★  Claire H. (Host), on 08/09/2018

What a professional service from start to finish, to celebrate a significant birthday. I was helped through the choice of courses to ensure that all our guests would enjoy the tasting menu, even to the extent that at the last minute one guest developed a problem with milk and medication and this was accommodated for.

Umberto arrived on time and just got on with the job. Nothing appeared to phase him, coming into a rental holiday cottage with limited facilities.

The food was absolutely amazing. The presentation, considering the limited crockery selection, was beautiful. We have eaten taster menus in several high class restaurants, and all agreed this was one of the best. The portion sizes being spot on, as we were able to enjoy every single dish without feeling full, but completely satisfied.

Overall it was a fantastic experience, and Umberto left 6 very satisfied guests and a spotless kitchen. Many thanks.

★★★★★  Zelinda A. (Host), on 28/08/2018

Right from the start he was so professional , always on top of emails , coming up with lots of ideas for the menu , nothing was too much trouble .

And what a chef, absolutely brilliant . The meal he cooked for us was superb, all our guests were bowled over , by the presentation , the wonderful flavours , the high standard of the ingredients , and not to forget his friendly charm which was so important .

He was happy to talk to any guests who had an interest in how he was cooking .

He came into a kitchen he did not know and cooked us a feast !

He didn’t fuss , he never intruded , it was an absolute pleasure to meet such a talented chef .

His food gave my husband a 70th birthday meal ,none of us will ever forget .

I think the greatest compliment was , after it was over, all the guests were trying to work out when they themselves could find something to celebrate in order to get Umberto back to cook again !

Whoever hires Umberto to cook for them in the future is incredibly lucky .

★★★★★ Carol W. (Host), on 03/08/2018

Umberto cooked a Sicilian menu which was designed and adapted to accommodate 6 adults, one of whom is vegan, and one child. We chose to celebrate my husband’s 70th birthday at a holiday lodge with our family and were recommended La Belle Assiette. We were then put in touch with Umberto who was both flexible in designing the menu and has a good knowledge of vegan recipes. We were so impressed with Umberto’s calm and professional manner throughout the experience. He was brilliant in delivering delicious and well cooked Sicilian food, in particular the imaginative vegan alternatives.

Thank you so much for serving us such a delicious Sicilian meal. My husband was really impressed with every part of the menu and we all appreciated your calm and professional approach.  You have made this celebration week-end really memorable.

★★★★★ Jenny D. (Host), on 03/08/2018

We agreed a slightly amended menu with him that catered for both gluten free and a one guest who was vegetarian.

Umberto’s food was absolutely delicious and he was lovely and friendly. He coped well with an AGA and overall it was a fabulous 70th family birthday celebration. We’d definitely recommend Umberto’s cooking to others.

★★★★★ Margaret B. (Host), on 24/07/2018

We had Umberto as our chef for a 70th birthday family dinner for 9. He arrived promptly as planned and within minutes had the kitchen organised and was calm and even unflustered by having to use an Aga cooker!! the food was delicious, well presented, the sauces were so tasty, everyone was very impressed with the standard of the meal, and the portion sizes were perfect.Umberto seem to manage being chef, waiter, and kitchen washer upper with no problem at all. I would definitely have him again his Sicilian/Italian cooking was scrumptious.

Many thanks for a super celebration.

★★★★★ Sarah R. (Guest), on 21/07/2018

Excellent menu & food was beautifully presented & tasted great. Thank you!

 

★★★★★ Iain M. (Host), on 12/07/2018

Umberto was a great chef, our kitchen was immaculate after he left. The food was great, no pressure on timing. In particular the beef main course was amazing. Highly recommended

★★★★★ Mark H. (Host), on 18/06/2018

After my initial enquiry everything was smooth from start to finish… they very punctual on replying to any question I had about the food, cost etc… Chef Umberto was outstanding, food was fantastic and we also had a couple of vegan diners and their food was delightful as well. Everything was perfect, Umberto arrived on time and the food was just as he had described it. Presentation was immaculate with all the courses complementing each other very nicely. I have no complaints and would recommend his services again and again.

★★★★★ Anna D. (Host), on 14/06/2018

We were really impressed with the whole service. Very straightforward to book, all questions answered. The chef was brilliant and provided a perfect menu tailor made to our requirements. He was very communicative before the event, very professional and the food was gorgeous! Everyone was really impressed.

★★★★★ Sarah B. (Host), on 02/06/2018

Umberto and Claire were a pleasure to work with. They catered for our Sports club AGM, which was hosted in a remote location in Wales. Though they already had a booking they cooked delicious arancini and arranged for delivery of the food.
They were a pleasure to work with, responding in a timely manner and catering for all requested dietary requirements.

★★★★ Amanda D. (Guest), on 26/05/2018

Umberto cooked a fantastic dinner for us last Saturday. We were a group of five and chose the four course design your own menu. It was booked with very short notice and Umberto was very efficient in sending through some lovely choices that met our dietary requirements after a brief conversation. On the day, the food Umberto cooked was wonderful (both taste and presentation) and he was a pleasure to have around – he arrived promptly, prepared the food efficiently and he was unobtrusive. We would love to have him cook for us again and if we are ever in the same area we will certainly be in touch.

★★★★★ Robert D. (Host), on 04/09/2017
Umberto arrived on time and set about creating the meal in a very professional manner while cheerfully answering questions from interested guests. All of the courses were exceptional from the chefs assortment of canapes to the delicious sweat. The whole experience exceeded my expectations due to chef Umberto’s cheerful disposition and undoubted professional ability, making my wife’s birthday a day to remember.
★★★★  Charlie J. (Host), on 20/08/2017

Umberto was great and his food was amazing. He was very friendly and polite. When he arrived he got straight down to work. His food was delicious and he left the kitchen cleaner than when he arrived. There was an issue when our original choice of chef wasn’t available but Umberto stepped in last minute and did a great job.

★★★★★ Janet (host) 27/05/2017

 The meal by Umberto was simply wonderful! We LOVED every bite! Umberto was the perfect chef – very well organized, served everything with the agreed timing – and graciously worked with what we had available to us there (sorry about the freezer – we actually found it in the Garden Room the next day!!)

The flavours in every dish were delightful – and everything looked beautiful too. It really was a fitting meal for George’s 90th birthday. We wanted to make the event special. He does not like too much “fuss”, but he appreciates excellent food. We really hit the perfect balance! Eating our meal out in the church part of The Priory at the dining table there was really special. I am glad that I chatted about the eating location with Umberto and followed his advice not to eat at the kitchen table.

It was a real treat to walk into the kitchen and see it perfectly cleaned up. Normally, I would not get to enjoy the meal so much, because I would be running around in the kitchen and then also doing the clean-up. I really appreciated being able to fully participate in the celebration meal (and my cooking is nowhere near as good as Umberto’s!)

Our sincere thanks and appreciation to Umberto for the fabulous experience.

 

★★★★★ Jen (host) 03/03/2017
After a small mishap with the original booking (another chef pulled out), Umberto stepped in to be our chef for gourmet Italian evening. A complete pleasure from start to finish, he shaped the menu perfectly, suggested matching wines and on the day was warm and professional. Not to mention preparing better than restaurant quality food – amazing!!! – and leaving the kitchen spotless.
★★★★★    Lesley (host) 10/09/2016
On the professional side, Umberto arrived when he said he would, prepared amazing food, and tidied everything away … leaving the kitchen as it was when he arrived. He definitely has a passion for food! On the personal side, having Umberto around was a real pleasure. Umberto made a very special family occasion even more special.
 
Cooking Lessons Now Available

*****       Stuart T. (Student), on 05/09/2016

Umberto was phenomenal. A truly fantastic experience and exceptional food was made 🙂 he’s an amazing chef a great teacher and all round top guy. Would thoroughly recommend him to anyone. Thank you so much for this brilliant experience 🙂

***** Clodagh D. (Host), on 26/08/2016

After our original chef had cancelled, Umberto kindly stepped in…and we were not disappointed. He arrived on time, set himself up and cooked a wonderful meal for us all. He then cleared everything up after himself (he even mopped the floor)! I would highly recommend Umberto to cater any event. He has a clear passion for food. Thank you.

***** Amy R. (Host), on 05/10/2015

Once again, Umberto’s food was extraordinarily good and attracted glowing comments from our customers. He was also punctual, professional and courteous. Highly recommended!

***** Amy R. (Host), on 15/09/2015

Umberto’s food was delicious, inventive and beautifully presented, with great attention to detail. He was also absolutely charming as well as professional. I’m delighted that he will be catering our next event as I know I won’t have to worry about anything!

**** Rachel T. (Guest), on 12/06/2015The food was lush! With gorgeous weather we were stood outside with drinks and were brought our amuse bouche, which was a very delicious start to the evening. The food was delicate and full of flavour and the main with the edible flowers was such a pretty dish, I didn’t want to eat it! The guys made some incredibly beautiful and tasty food and we didn’t even know they were there….seamless service! Thank you

 *****    Kevin T. (Host), on 04/01/2015
 The meal was absolutely outstanding. Umberto was a gentleman all through the meal and was very easy to talk to and very friendly. He served us wine throughout and the presentation of the food was also fantastic. It was a great night and I would definitely recommend this service and this chef to anyone. I will no doubt use this company again and I will also look particular to ask for this chef!

*****  Superb food. Some of it is better than what you get at Polpo or Bucca di Luppo. – Sally, SE11

*****  Delicious! – Anton, SE11

*****  Best gnocchi and arancini I’ve ever had! Thank you! – Tim, SW4

*****  Food was lovely, arrived quickly and hot. Strongly recommend. – John, SW4

*****  Another great delicious meal, thanks. – Anton, SE11

*****  Excellent, excellent! I told a group of friends all about it this morning. – Anne, SE24

*****  Brilliant. Umberto has always some delicious surprise. Chicken was sublime. Arancino was as usual – high class. The Macco Di Piselli was delicious as well as the caponata. This is my fourth or fifth time ordering from Umberto and he is a true master chef. Thanks Umberto and until next time 🙂 – Emil, SW8

Delicious as always! Thank you for the brownies. 🙂 – maria, SW4

***** Brilliant. Umberto has always some delicious surprise. Chicken was sublime. Arancino was as usual – high class. The Macco Di Piselli was delicious as well as the caponata. This is my fourth or fifth time ordering from Umberto and he is a true master chef. Thanks Umberto and until next time 🙂